This is something that happened to me quite recently. I'm designing adventures so that players each have a chance to get some gold and goodies and something special to hold on to. However, just recently I've had to change the way I distribute my treasure because of the behaviour of one player. I'm sure there are many other players out there like it.

The type I'm talking about are those players who grab all the treasure and gold they can. They are magnitised and their soul and body is drawn towards unopened treasure chests. They generally play the rogue so they are able to safely unlock and disarm traps. Room full of well armed goblins? Forget that, I'm going for the chest! It's even gone so far as the rogue finding something that another character would be able to use (such as a magial longsword) and selling it regardless of the players pleas and cries for the powerful weapon. It just got to stupid point and I needed to sort something out.

So I did something I never did before, incorporate the idea of a magic bad. This bag was unable to be tampered by the players and whenever a new piece of treasure was discovered, or gold, it would be magically transported to this bag at the end. The players were told what it was, then it was sent to the bag itself. At the end of the adventure or the session, I would then begin to distribute the contents of the bag evenly to all the players. Firstly, I would begin by declaring what were the useable contents of the bag (such as potions, weapons and scrolls). If a player argued over who should get it (aside from just wanting to sell it), they would have to roll for it. All the treasure that is left behind and unwanted is then sold. The gold is then distributed evenly to all players.

Yes it can abolish the idea of merit, about how players who do more should get rewarded more but I was desperate. The other 3 players were finding the game boring because they couldn't get their hands on anything. The rogue kicked up a fuss saying the lime light of the treasure finder was being taken away...however he was still finding the treasure but that treasure was being distributed evenly. He was still using his skills and abiities to find the treasure, I was just making sure they were working as a team.

Any DMs or players care to share their experiences? You think it was a good idea to introduce this magical treasure bag?
Cas
14/5/2010 12:21:01 am

I think this would have been an ideal opportunity for roleplay within the party. If this had been happening to real characters, I'm sure they'd have had a reaction to it without a god/DM intervening. How do they deal with this situation?

And outside of the game, you chose a very hierarchical approach. "I am the DM and I will fix this". Couldn't the players also have discussed this and solved the social problem of a player who wasn't contributing to the enjoyment of the group?

Reply
14/5/2010 12:35:01 am

@Cas

I should have put more detail regards to this, the players approached me privately about this matter and complained about it. My friends that I was playing with were a bit scared of approaching him (they're not the sort of people who like confrontation). Therefore they were not going to sort it out amongst themselves so I felt I had to intervene as a God-Ahem I mean DM to sort it out.

Thank you for your comment.

Reply
21/4/2011 06:19:12 pm

a revival of interest in numerology has occurred and many people are learning how numbers might affect them.

Reply

great post

Reply
9/5/2012 05:48:12 pm

Hat can shading also can let you in this summer glamour to multiply, it has the function of the cold winter, can also protect the hair.Happiness always generous person concomitant with, Riches always accompanies with faith, Wisdom always and noble person concomitant, Charm will always be with sunshine person concomitant, Let all the wishes with you always.

Reply
10/5/2012 12:44:21 pm

Your blog too good, I will soon come back again, to keep at it

Reply
21/8/2012 11:41:48 am

I've follwed that are being made in the Social Networking world are much more provoking and exciting to me than any contemporary art I've come across lately.

Reply
21/8/2012 11:42:03 am


I anticipate art and IT (and new media) technology coming together in a real and meaningful way.

Reply



Leave a Reply.